What Works…..Egg Freezing

Surprisingly, This Is the Best Age to Freeze Your Eggs

Reproduction and the options seems to be a mental trend for me. What initially drew me in to this article was the title. Egg freezing is never something that has been an option to me due to the fact that at this point in my life I have no intention of reproducing. Many have informed me that my “clock” simply hasn’t kicked in yet and I will inevitably change my mind. I have even had the rare urge to cuddle and steal the random onesy-clad baby, but my decision always returns (quickly) to the mindset that I will not be having children.

I know I am not alone or an anomaly in this decision. There is an ever-increasing number of women who are making this decision for any number of reasons. Some are more career-focused, some don’t wish to bring a child into the current state of the world, and some simply don’t have the maternal instinct to warrant wanting a child. This doesn’t make anyone a bad person or a selfish person, it simply shows the different ways of thinking present in all humans.

However, what of the woman who wants children but simply isn’t ready but has the fear of aging eggs hanging over her head? Egg freezing.

Initially the solution to woman who were having fertility issues or facing medical treatments that would render their eggs infertile, freezing has now become an option for those who want to have their cake and eat it too, assuming they can also fork over the cash.

This article worked for me. I like having backup plans, no matter the subject. Having children is no different. It has been a nagging “what-if” in the back of my head that I might change my mind on having children. Prior to reading this article egg freezing never occurred to me as an option. I am career focused and I don’t like the idea of feeling pressured to quickly find someone to help create the other half of a child simply because of aging eggs. This offers a potential remedy to that issue, albeit not an easily attainable one.

Leave a Reply

